“Don’t Sit, Get Fit”

If you put money on something, it should be the great motivator, shouldn’t it?  Yeah, sometimes.  I think that is the wrong way to look at it for the motivator.

Jonathan and I made a decision – put our money where our mouth is!  No, that didn’t work.  We just worked it into the budget, and we decided that this would NOT be the winter that we would pack on the pounds to survive the cold. There are so many wonderful hobbies to learn, practice and dream about in the winter to do when you are indoors.

Cooking is one of them.  Who wants to be out of the house when the sun is shining and the weather is gorgeous outdoors to fill the house with the comfort of deliciousness as it wafts through the house?  Yeah, I get that.  The summers and fall in Minnesota have proved to have won me over.  I can’t not take part in the amazing activities that are offered through the cities and the states in our vicinity – I’m HOOKED.  This was the summer for it.

And, alas, even with that activity, I still put on weight and CANNOT and WILL NOT be participating in the quiet pound-packing of winter this year.

We signed up for the gym – 2014 Resolution- ha!  Technically, we are not of the masses.  We tricked ourselves – we signed up in DECEMBER.  So, we are not one of THOSE gym people.  We rationalized it.  We’re fine with it.  You should be, too.

Along with the membership (though not necessary to participate but necessary for the discounted rate – I am still a bargain hunter to the core), we signed up for the Community Ed class “Don’t Sit, Get Fit.”  This is a 9-week program to lost weight.  NO!  IT IS NOT.  And, that has become the life changer for me.

This is a lifestyle change.  This is a way to have structure around getting active.  This is the non-excuse, with some accountability, that I will participate.  That is it!  I have DONE it.  I have STARTED…

Monday: Yoga was the first attack this week – RESULT – I DID NOT PASS OUT.  And, I actually felt good.  Instructor was awesome for every level in the class.  What I learned – I need to breathe and pull my shoulders from my ears – it has to be conscious for me, and, I felt the results.

Wednesday: I met the trainer (we get 5 sessions with a personal trainer over the program) – RESULT – I DID NOT PASS OUT.  And, I did everything she tasked me with!  What I learned – it’s not all about machine routine, and, you really do need to have someone actively work with you.

Thursday: I attended the Nutrition class – RESULT – We cleaned out the snack cabinet of “stuff;” NO TEARS WERE SHED.  What I learned – I am able to make good choices without being overboard.  Small changes are changes nonetheless.  Try, try and try again!

Friday/Saturday: Good intentions – sweet little boy was hit with the stomach virus that has been around – RESULT – I REALLY WANTED TO GO.  What I learned – I MISSED IT.  And, snuggling with your son is priceless.  That fuels the soul

Sunday: Spin, first time, terrified, nervous, have a big butt – RESULT – I DID NOT PASS OUT.  What I learned – I want to go again!  And, I will have Spin Butt as a result

This week – crazy busy with work and activities, but I am really looking forward to Barre class on Thursday.  And, the soreness has helped me remember to stand at my desk more and walk more.  We have an entire Skyway system in Minneapolis – USE IT!

Leave a comment